DIY: Easy fabric covered notebooks

I tend to have quite a lot of notebooks on the go at any one time.  I wish I could say it was because of brilliantly organised intentions where I organise the different parts of my life by having a notebook for each project, each job, but sadly it’s more because I’m so bad at leaving them lying around the losing them in the depths of various bags!  I love treating myself to beautiful notebook but again, because of the same reason, I can’t really justify spending too much because my notebooks just don’t have staying power.   This is a really easy and cheap way to style up plain notebooks to give them a more expensive designed feel.  Hooray for the love of stationery!

You Will Need

  • Plain notebooks
  • Beautiful fabric
  • Fabric glue
  • Scissors

fabric notebooks

Step 1

Cut your fabric so that it is slightly larger than your open notebook.  I’m actually using a ‘christmas’ fabric but I think with the colour scheme and oh so subtle tree motif I can pull this off as a ‘spring’ fabric right?

Step 2

Apply fabric glue around the edges of your notebook cover and along the spine and lay onto your fabric.  Keep the notebook closed and now apply fabric glue to the back cover.  Fold your fabric over the notebook so that it fits snugly

how to cover a notebook

Step 3

Once the glue is completely dry, trim all of the excess fabric and you’ll be left with a beautifully chic pad to doodle in (well no-one said you had to use the notebook for work did they…)

DIY fabric covered notebooks

TAADAA! and yes I blew my christmas fabric cover by adding baubles but C’MON!  Baubles for life not just for christmas!

fabric covered notebooks

Leave a comment