Book Review: Rag Rugs, Pillows and More

A few years back at The Handmade Fair a completely stunning rag rug wreath caught my eye.  It was made by Elspeth who founded Ragged Life in 2014 after getting into rag rugging as a teenager.  I really love Elspeth’s style and fun, colourful takes on the rag rugging technique – she’s also been on my blog talking about her favourite projects, and we hung out when we both went on Crafty Beggars in the House.  Elspeth’s business has grown and grown and she’s now full time, running workshops, writing for craft magazines AND has just brought out a book!!

dscn5915-copy

Rag Rugs, Pillows and More offers up a vast range of rag rug projects that vary in difficulty – making it a great book for anyone wanting to try rag rugging for the first time, or for seasoned rag ruggers to challenge themselves to use the techniques in a new way.  Elspeth wanted to create a book that would “push the boundaries of rag rugging and bring it into the 21st century ” and, with projects ranging from soft furnishings and wall hangings, to hair accessories and clutch bags she’s really achieved this.  It feels like there’s a project for everyone and it’s a book you could dip into for a quick craft fix, a full project or just some inspiration.

dscn5917-copy

pumpkins-3-022

The very detailed introduction covers tools, techniques and, cleverly, tips on designing for rag rug makes – it’s clear a rag rug revolution is being launched and I really loved the ethos of encouraging readers to create their own style that early on in the book.

Projects that instantly caught my eye included: a gorgeous denim chevron rug, the cute chalkboard frame (above) and a watermelon clutch bag… and of course I couldn’t help but BEAM WITH EXCITEMENT when I spotted the design for the Christmas wreath I bought from Ragged Life in the book!!

You can find more information about Ragged Life over on their website

*I was sent my copy of this book for the purpose of review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and as always if I didn’t blooming love it I wouldn’t blog about it.

 

Leave a comment